1. Home
  2. Compare lenders

Compare lenders

Compare 22 lenders: a great meadow credit guide

Last updated:

People searching great meadow credit often want to see how other lenders stack up. Here are 22 smaller installment lenders, compared on published terms.

On this page

Couple in their 50s unrolling a striped awning over their small-town corner cafe and high-fiving, the header image for a great meadow credit lender comparison

01

How to read this great meadow credit lender comparison

A great meadow credit lender comparison lines up 22 smaller US installment lenders by published loan amounts, APR ranges, terms, funding times and fees, so you can judge any offer you receive against the wider market for personal loans.

We are a free loan-matching service, not a lender. To build this page we read each company's own website and disclosures, then filled gaps with major consumer finance review sites. Where a figure was not published anywhere we could find, we say "Not published" rather than guess. We did not rank these personal loan lenders, because the right fit depends on your credit, your state and the amount you need. People who start with a great meadow credit search are often comparing small amounts, so we flag minimums and state limits for each lender.

Use the summary table for a quick scan of personal loan terms, then read the lender notes for state limits, minimum amounts and fee details. Published terms change often, so treat every number here as a starting point and confirm it with the lender before you apply.

Listed for comparison onlyListing a lender on this page does not mean it participates in our network, works with us, has reviewed this page or would make you an offer. No lender paid to appear here, and none is linked.

02

How we chose and compared the 22 lenders

We included US lenders that make fixed-rate installment personal loans repaid over months, publish at least some pricing, and are neither large national banks nor companies built around short-term single-payment loans.

  • Product type: closed-end installment personal loans with fixed monthly or biweekly payments, not credit lines or single-payment products.
  • Size: online lenders, lending platforms and regional branch lenders rather than the largest national banks.
  • Transparency: a published amount range, APR range or term range on the lender's site or a major review site.
  • Price ceiling: advertised APRs at or below about 36%, a cap many states and consumer advocates use as an upper limit for small personal loans.
  • Reach: availability in more than a handful of states, or a clearly defined audience such as federal employees or service members.

For each lender we recorded five facts about its personal loans: loan amounts, APR range, repayment terms, funding time and fees. We then wrote a short, neutral note on who the lender tends to suit, its main trade-offs and any state availability limits we found. When two sources disagreed, we used the lender's own published figure or noted the conflict in the lender note.

What we did not measure

We did not apply for personal loans, test customer service or estimate approval odds. A lender can quote a rate anywhere in its range, or decline, after reviewing a full application. Treat the comparison as a map of the market for personal loans, not a forecast of your own offer. Nor did we compare these lenders' pricing with great meadow loans, because lenders in our network set their own terms after a request. A great meadow credit request is not ranked here either, because our service matches you with lenders rather than lending.

03

Summary table: amounts, APRs and terms at a glance

The table below lists all 22 lenders with their published personal loan amounts, APR ranges and repayment terms, so you can see at a glance which ones cover the amount and term you have in mind.

Published personal loan terms for 22 smaller US lenders (confirm current terms with each lender)
LenderAmountsAPRTerms
Upstart$1,000–$75,0006.1%–35.99%36 or 60 months
Upgrade$1,000–$50,0007.74%–35.99%24–84 months
Avant$2,000–$35,0009.95%–35.99%24–60 months
Best Egg$2,000–$50,0006.99%–35.99%36–60 months
Prosper$2,000–$50,0008.99%–35.99%24–72 months
LendingPoint$1,000–$36,5007.99%–35.99%24–72 months
Happy Money$5,000–$50,0008.95%–35.99%24–84 months
Achieve$5,000–$50,0006.25%–35.99%24–60 months
Universal Credit$1,000–$50,00011.69%–35.99%36 or 60 months
Rocket Loans$2,000–$75,0007.99%–29.99%36 or 60 months
Reach Financial$3,500–$40,0005.99%–35.99%24–60 months
Reprise Financial$2,500–$35,0009.5%–36%36–60 months
Oportun$300–$10,00031.95%–35.95%12–60 months
OneMain Financial$1,500–$35,00011.99%–35.99%24–60 months
Mariner Finance$1,000–$25,00015.99%–35.99%12–72 months
Regional Finance$600–$35,00024%–35.99%12–60 months
Republic FinanceUp to $25,000Up to 35.99%12–60 months
Lendmark Financial$500–$25,000Not publishedNot published
1st Franklin FinancialUp to $15,000Up to 35.99%15–60 months
Tower LoanUp to $20,00032.99% (example)12–36 months
Kashable$250–$30,0006%–35.99%6–36 months
OMNI Financial$500–$10,000Not published6–36 months

Two patterns stand out. First, most online lenders cap APRs at 35.99%, so the real differences between their personal loans are the low end of the range, the origination fee and the term options. Second, many online lenders start at $2,000 or more, while lenders such as Kashable, Oportun, Lendmark and Regional Finance publish minimums of $600 or less. For a great meadow credit search focused on $500 to $5,000, that minimum column is often the first filter.

Some rows carry caveats. Reprise Financial's term range and Oportun's APR and term ranges come from a review site because the lender pages did not state them. Tower Loan publishes a single example rate rather than a range, and Lendmark Financial and OMNI Financial do not post APR ranges at all. Readers comparing great meadow credit options with these figures should keep in mind that requests through our form cover $500 to $5,000 only.

04

Which lenders fit a $500 to $5,000 need

Only 10 of the 22 lenders publish a minimum of $1,000 or less, so borrowers who need personal loans of $500 to $1,500 should check minimums first, then compare APR and fees among the lenders that remain.

  • Published minimums of $1,000 or less: Kashable ($250), Oportun ($300), Lendmark Financial ($500), OMNI Financial ($500), Regional Finance ($600), and Upstart, Upgrade, LendingPoint, Universal Credit and Mariner Finance ($1,000 each).
  • Minimums from $1,500 to $2,500: OneMain Financial ($1,500), Avant, Best Egg, Prosper and Rocket Loans ($2,000 each), and Reprise Financial ($2,500).
  • Minimums of $3,500 or more: Reach Financial ($3,500), Achieve and Happy Money ($5,000 each).
  • Minimum not published: Republic Finance, 1st Franklin Financial and Tower Loan.

State rules shift these numbers. Several lenders set higher minimums in Georgia, Hawaii, Massachusetts and a few other states, so a $1,000 request that works in Ohio may not work in Georgia. Check the lender's state disclosure before you assume a minimum applies to you. State rules apply to great meadow lending requests too: availability and terms differ by state and lender.

Fees weigh more heavily on small personal loans. A 9.99% origination fee on a $2,000 loan removes about $200 before the money reaches you. If you need exactly $2,000 in hand, ask whether the lender lets you borrow enough to cover the fee, and what that does to your payment and total cost. The same check applies to great meadow loans that carry an origination fee.

If you were looking at great meadow loans for a smaller amount, note that requests through our form run from $500 to $5,000, with terms typically from 6 to 36 months. That is a narrower and shorter range than many lenders on this page publish, which suits short repair, moving or medical costs.

05

Online lenders, branch lenders and specialty lenders

The 22 personal loan lenders fall into three groups: online lenders and lending platforms, branch-based consumer lenders, and specialty lenders that serve a defined group such as federal employees or military service members.

Online lenders and platforms

Upstart, Upgrade, Avant, Best Egg, Prosper, LendingPoint, Happy Money, Achieve, Universal Credit, Rocket Loans, Reach Financial, Reprise Financial and Oportun take personal loan applications online and usually deposit funds by ACH. Most let you prequalify with a soft credit inquiry, which shows an estimated rate without affecting your score. Their APR ceilings cluster at 35.99%, and origination or administration fees commonly run from about 1% to 10%. Borrowers who weigh great meadow lending requests against these platforms will notice that terms in our network are typically shorter, from 6 to 36 months.

Branch-based consumer lenders

OneMain Financial, Mariner Finance, Regional Finance, Republic Finance, Lendmark Financial, 1st Franklin Financial and Tower Loan run local offices, mostly in the South and Midwest. They may work with lower credit scores, offer personal loans secured by a vehicle and hand over a check the day you sign. The trade-off is thinner published pricing: several post no full APR range or fee schedule online, which makes side-by-side comparison harder. Borrowers in those states who are weighing great meadow credit options can ask a branch for a written quote and compare it with any online offer.

Specialty lenders

Kashable lends through participating employers and federal payroll programs and collects payments by payroll deduction. OMNI Financial lends to active-duty service members, career veterans and Department of Defense employees under Military Lending Act limits. Both can be useful if you qualify, but neither is open to the general public. Anyone looking at great meadow credit alternatives should check these eligibility rules before spending time on an application.

06

How to compare personal loan offers side by side

Compare personal loan offers on APR first, then total repayment, monthly payment, origination fee and funding time, because the lowest monthly payment is often the most expensive loan once a longer term is counted.

  1. Line up the APR, not just the interest rate. APR folds in the origination fee, so it shows the yearly cost more fully. Our guide to personal loan APR ranges explains how lenders set it.
  2. Check the amount you will actually receive by subtracting any origination or administration fee from the loan amount.
  3. Compare total repayment by multiplying the monthly payment by the number of payments.
  4. Match the term to the purpose. A short repair bill rarely needs a five-year personal loan, and a longer term adds interest.
  5. Read the late fee, returned-payment fee and prepayment rules in the loan agreement.
  6. Confirm the funding method and timing, and whether funds can go directly to creditors.

Worked example (estimate)

Amount
$2,000
Term
12 months
APR
24.99% (est.)
Monthly payment
$190.08 (est.)
Total repaid
$2,280.94 (est.)
Total interest
$280.94 (est.)

Stretching the same $2,000 to 36 months at 24.99% APR lowers the payment to about $79.51 a month (est.), but total interest rises to about $862.33 (est.). Try your own numbers in the personal loan calculator before you settle on a term.

If origination fees are new to you, the origination fee definition explains how the fee is deducted and why it raises the APR. Fees on this page range from none at all to 10% of the loan, so the same advertised rate can produce very different costs. Some lenders in our network charge an origination fee of 0% to 8% on great meadow credit requests, and the offer should show it before you accept.

When two offers have similar APRs, look at the practical details: whether you can pick your due date, whether autopay is required for the quoted rate, and whether the lender reports payments to all three credit bureaus. Those small differences can matter more than a fraction of a point on personal loans of a few thousand dollars. The same steps apply to great meadow loans for medical bills, moving costs or car repairs.

Anyone weighing a great meadow credit offer against a direct quote from a lender on this page can use the same checklist. Put both offers in writing, compare the APR and the total repaid, and pick the one that fits your budget for the full term rather than the first month.

07

Red flags when comparing lenders

Walk away from any lender that asks for an upfront fee before funding, promises approval before reviewing your information, or will not show the APR and total cost in writing before you sign.

  • Upfront fees: legitimate personal loan lenders deduct origination fees from the loan or add them to the balance; they do not ask for a gift card, wire transfer or prepaid card first.
  • Approval promised before review: be wary of offers that promise approval before reviewing anything about your income or credit.
  • Pressure to sign today: a genuine offer will still be there after you read the agreement.
  • Missing license information: lenders must be licensed where they lend, and most list state licenses or an NMLS number.
  • Quotes far above the published range: if a rate is well above the lender's posted APR, ask why before going further.
  • Bundled add-ons: credit insurance or membership plans should be optional and priced separately.
  • Lookalike names and sites: scammers copy real lender names, so type the lender's address yourself rather than following an unsolicited message.
  • Fees to use a matching service: a great meadow credit request is free, so a site asking for payment before showing offers is not ours.

The same caution applies to familiar names. If you searched great meadow credit union or great meadow fcu, note that we are not that credit union and are not affiliated with it; we are a free loan-matching service. We do not take deposits, open accounts or make loans.

If something feels off, check the lender's licensing through your state's financial regulator or the NMLS Consumer Access lookup, and report suspected fraud to the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau or the Federal Trade Commission. The same checks apply to any great meadow credit offer you receive from a lender in our network.

08

How a great meadow credit request differs from applying one by one

Applying for personal loans lender by lender means separate forms, separate identity checks and possibly separate credit inquiries, while a single request through our form is shared with lenders in our network who may respond with offers.

With direct applications, you choose exactly which lender sees your information, and you can go straight to a lender from this page if you already know it fits. The cost is time: each lender has its own form, document requests and timeline, and a full application at each one can mean a hard credit inquiry every time.

A great meadow credit request works differently. You fill out one form for personal loans of $500 to $5,000, and it is shared with lenders in our network. If a lender makes an offer, that lender shows its own APR, term and fees, and you decide whether to continue. Our service is free, you are under no obligation to accept, and we do not make credit decisions, fund loans or set rates.

Applying lender by lender vs one request through our network
FactorApplying lender by lenderOne request through our network
FormsOne per lenderOne form
Who sees your dataOnly lenders you chooseLenders in our network
AmountsEach lender's range, often $2,000 and up$500 to $5,000
APR shownEach lender's published rangeAbout 5.99% to 35.99%, set by the lender (est.)
Origination feeNone to 10% on this page0% to 8% at some lenders
Cost to useFree to applyFree, no obligation
FundingVaries by lenderAs soon as the next business day after approval, depending on the lender

Many readers use both routes. They send a great meadow credit request for a quick read on what lenders in our network might offer, then prequalify directly with one or two lenders from this page that publish soft-inquiry rate checks.

Neither path assures an offer. Whether you apply directly for personal loans or send a great meadow lending request through our form, a lender reviews your information and may decline. Our eligibility overview covers what lenders usually look at before they make an offer.

09

Where great meadow credit requests fit among these lenders

A great meadow credit request fits small, short needs: $500 to $5,000 over terms typically from 6 to 36 months, a range that sits below the minimum amounts of several lenders on this page.

Eight lenders in this comparison start at $2,000 or more, and Achieve and Happy Money start at $5,000. For a $1,200 brake job or an $800 deductible, those personal loans are simply out of range. Readers who searched great meadow loans for a bill of that size can send one request, see whether a lender in our network responds, and compare that offer with any lender here that does lend small amounts.

Term length matters as well. Several online lenders here offer only 36 or 60 months, which can mean paying interest for years on a short-term expense. Lenders in our network typically offer 6 to 36 months on great meadow credit requests, so the payment can be higher but the debt ends sooner. At 24.99% APR (est.), $1,000 over 6 months costs about $74.14 in interest (est.), compared with about $431.16 (est.) over 36 months.

None of this makes one route better for everyone. A great meadow lending request suits someone who wants one form and a small amount; a direct application suits someone who already knows which lender fits. Either way, the lender sets the APR, reviews your information and may decline, and you can compare personal loans from both routes before you choose.

10

Questions to ask any personal loan lender before you sign

Before signing, ask each lender for the APR, the amount you will actually receive, the total repaid, every fee, and whether the quoted rate depends on autopay or collateral.

  1. What is the APR, and is it fixed for the full term of the personal loan?
  2. How much will be deposited after the origination or administration fee is taken out?
  3. What is the total of all payments if I pay on schedule?
  4. Does the quoted rate require autopay, a co-borrower or a vehicle as collateral?
  5. What are the late fee, the returned-payment fee and the grace period?
  6. Can I pay early without a penalty, and can I change my due date?
  7. Which credit bureaus receive my payment history?

The same questions work for a great meadow credit offer. Because the lender in our network that makes the offer sets its own terms, it should answer each one in writing before you accept. If a lender cannot or will not answer them, treat that as a reason to keep comparing personal loans elsewhere.

Write the answers down side by side. A simple grid with APR, amount received, monthly payment and total repaid shows which quote costs least over the full term, whether it came from great meadow lending requests or from a lender on this page.

11

State availability and why published terms change

Personal loan terms differ by state because each state sets its own licensing rules, rate caps and loan size limits, and lenders update their published ranges as funding costs and credit conditions shift.

Examples from this comparison show how much your state matters. OneMain Financial sets higher minimums in Alabama, California, Georgia, North Dakota, Ohio and Virginia, and lower maximums in North Carolina, Maine and West Virginia. Best Egg does not lend in Iowa, Nebraska, Vermont or West Virginia. Branch lenders such as 1st Franklin Financial, Republic Finance and Tower Loan serve only a set list of states. State rules apply to great meadow loans as well, since each lender in our network must be licensed where it lends.

Published terms change. Lenders revise personal loan APR ranges, fees and minimums without notice, and review sites update on their own schedules, which is why two sources can disagree. Before you apply, open the lender's current rate and fee disclosure, confirm your state is served, and compare the final loan agreement with the figures you expected.

Looking at great meadow options alongside other lenders is a sensible step, not a commitment. Gather two or three written offers for personal loans, compare them on APR and total cost, and choose the one you can repay comfortably. A great meadow credit request can be one of those offers, or you can apply directly to lenders on this page.

FAQ

Questions people ask

Are the lenders on this page part of your network?

Not necessarily. The 22 lenders are listed for comparison only, and listing does not mean a lender participates in our network or works with us. If you send a great meadow credit request, any offer comes from a lender in our network, which shows its own terms.

How current are the APRs and loan amounts?

We gathered each figure from the lender's website or a major review site, but lenders change published terms often. Treat every number as a starting point and confirm the current range, fees and state availability with the lender before applying. That applies to any great meadow credit offer as well: the lender's written terms are the ones that count.

Which lender on the list is cheapest?

No single lender is cheapest for everyone, because the APR you are offered on personal loans depends on your credit, income, state and loan amount. Compare written offers on APR and total repayment rather than the lowest advertised rate. Comparing a great meadow lending offer with one or two direct quotes is a practical way to find the lower cost for you.

Does checking rates hurt my credit?

Many online personal loan lenders on this page let you prequalify with a soft inquiry that does not affect your score. A full application usually triggers a hard inquiry, so prequalify where you can and apply fully only once an offer looks right.

Lender profiles

The 22 lenders we compared

Upstart

Online personal loan platform

Amounts
$1,000–$75,000 (higher minimums in GA, HI, MA)
APR
6.1%–35.99%
Terms
36 or 60 months
Funding
As fast as 24 hours after approval and signing
Fees
Origination fee varies (lender example: 8.31%); late fee of 5% of the past-due amount or $15, whichever is greater

Upstart is an online lending platform; its personal loans are originated by regulated banks, and its underwriting looks at factors such as education and work history alongside credit data. That can help borrowers with a short credit history get a quote. The trade-offs are only two term lengths, 36 or 60 months, and an origination fee that can take a meaningful share of the proceeds. Minimums are higher in Georgia ($3,100), Hawaii ($1,500) and Massachusetts ($7,000), so a $1,000 need will not fit everywhere; a great meadow credit request, by contrast, starts at $500. Published terms change often, so confirm the current range in the lender's own disclosures before applying.

Best for: Thin credit files and fair credit

Upgrade

Online personal loan lender

Amounts
$1,000–$50,000
APR
7.74%–35.99% (with autopay)
Terms
24–84 months
Funding
Sent within 1 business day of clearing verifications
Fees
Origination fee 1.85%–9.99%, deducted from proceeds; late fee not published

Upgrade is an online personal loan lender with one of the widest term ranges in this group, from 24 to 84 months, plus a joint-application option for borrowers who would not qualify alone. For debt consolidation it can send funds straight to card issuers, though direct payments to creditors may take up to two weeks. The origination fee runs 1.85% to 9.99% and comes out of the loan before you receive it, so the deposit can be noticeably smaller than the loan amount. A major review site lists a minimum credit score of about 600. Upgrade notes that certain offers are not available in all states. Check the current APR range and fee before you sign.

Best for: Fair credit and direct creditor payoff

Avant

Online personal loan lender

Amounts
$2,000–$35,000 (minimums vary by state)
APR
9.95%–35.99%
Terms
24–60 months
Funding
Next business day if approved by 4:30 p.m. CT, Monday–Friday
Fees
Administration fee up to 9.99%, deducted from proceeds; late fee not published

Avant makes personal loans mainly to borrowers in the fair-credit range; a major review site puts its minimum score at 550, with most customers at 600 or higher. Funds approved by 4:30 p.m. Central on a weekday are generally sent by ACH for next-business-day delivery. The main cost to watch is an administration fee of up to 9.99%, which works like an origination fee and is subtracted from the amount you receive. The $2,000 minimum puts smaller needs out of reach, and cosigners are not allowed. Avant does not lend in every state, and the same review describes it as serving 41 states. Confirm availability with its state selector before applying.

Best for: Fair credit and next-day deposits

Best Egg

Online personal loan lender

Amounts
$2,000–$50,000 (higher minimums in MA, OH, GA)
APR
6.99%–35.99%
Terms
36–60 months
Funding
Typically 1–3 business days after verification; about half of customers next day
Fees
Origination fee 0.99%–9.99% (at least 4.99% on terms of 4 years or longer); late fee not published

Best Egg offers unsecured personal loans and, in some cases, loans secured by vehicle equity or home fixtures. Its lowest APRs tend to go to applicants with strong credit and higher incomes, while fair-credit applicants should expect quotes closer to the top of the range. Terms are limited to 36 through 60 months, so a small loan can carry more total interest than a shorter plan would. The origination fee is 0.99% to 9.99% and is at least 4.99% on terms of four years or longer. Best Egg does not lend in Iowa, Nebraska, Vermont, West Virginia, Washington, D.C., or U.S. territories. Verify current terms before applying.

Best for: Good credit and higher incomes

Prosper

Personal loan marketplace

Amounts
$2,000–$50,000
APR
8.99%–35.99%
Terms
24–72 months (2–6 years)
Funding
As soon as 1 business day after accepting the offer and completing verification
Fees
Origination fee 1%–9.99%, taken from proceeds; late fee charged (amount not published on the loan page)

Prosper runs a marketplace model in which investors fund personal loans, and it accepts joint applications that can help an applicant with thinner income or credit. A major review site reports that applicants may qualify with a score as low as 600. Terms run from two to six years, giving more room to lower a monthly payment, though a longer term raises total interest. The origination fee of 1% to 9.99% is taken from the loan before funding. The same review notes that investor funding can sometimes take longer than the advertised one-business-day timeline. Prosper is not available in Iowa or West Virginia, per that review. Confirm current terms with the lender.

Best for: Joint applications and fair credit

LendingPoint

Online personal loan lender

Amounts
$1,000–$36,500 (higher minimums in GA, CO, HI)
APR
7.99%–35.99%
Terms
24–72 months
Funding
As soon as the next business day after approval
Fees
Origination fee up to 10%, depending on state; late fee not published

LendingPoint offers personal loans to borrowers with fair credit; a major review site lists a 600 minimum score and a $35,000 minimum annual income, checked with a pay stub or W-2. Its 24- to 72-month term range is wider than many lenders here, and it does not charge a prepayment penalty. The origination fee can reach 10% depending on your state, which matters on small loans because the fee reduces what you receive. Cosigners and joint applications are not allowed. LendingPoint's own site says loans are not available to residents of Nevada or West Virginia, and minimums are higher in Georgia ($3,500) and Colorado ($3,001). Check current terms before applying.

Best for: Fair credit with steady income

Happy Money

Online personal loan lender

Amounts
$5,000–$50,000
APR
8.95%–35.99% (with autopay)
Terms
24–84 months
Funding
Three to six business days (review-site figure)
Fees
Origination fee varies by amount, term and credit, deducted from proceeds; late fees may apply (amount not published)

Happy Money's Payoff Loan is a personal loan built for one purpose: paying off credit card balances. Most loans are funded by credit unions and other financial institutions, and a major review site notes there are no application or annual fees. The $5,000 minimum is above many small needs and equals the top of a great meadow credit request, and the same review lists a minimum credit score of 620, so fair-credit applicants may not qualify. Funding is slower than many online lenders, often three to six business days. Joint applications and cosigners are not permitted. The lender's site says loans are not offered in Iowa. Because quoted rates assume autopay, ask what the APR would be without it before accepting.

Best for: Credit card payoff with good credit

Achieve

Online personal loan lender

Amounts
$5,000–$50,000 (higher minimum in AZ)
APR
6.25%–35.99%
Terms
24–60 months (2–5 years)
Funding
Funds sent in 24–72 hours
Fees
Origination fee 1.99%–9.99%; no prepayment penalty; late fee not published

Achieve is an online personal loan lender aimed mostly at debt consolidation, with rate discounts for adding a co-borrower, showing retirement savings or having the loan pay creditors directly. Its site lists a 560 minimum credit score, or 660 for consolidation loans of $35,000 or more. The $5,000 minimum, and an $11,000 minimum in Arizona per a review site, rules it out for small repairs or medical bills, the range where great meadow credit requests of $500 to $5,000 tend to fit. Terms run two to five years, and the origination fee of 1.99% to 9.99% is deducted from proceeds. Achieve is not available in every state, so prequalify or call to confirm eligibility. Published terms change; confirm them before signing.

Best for: Larger debt consolidation with rate discounts

Universal Credit

Online personal loan lender

Amounts
$1,000–$50,000
APR
11.69%–35.99%
Terms
36 or 60 months
Funding
As soon as one day after clearing necessary verifications
Fees
Origination fee 5.25%–9.99%, deducted from proceeds; no prepayment penalty; late fee not published

Universal Credit is an online personal loan lender for borrowers with lower credit scores, and its loans are managed through the Upgrade app. A major review site cites a 580 minimum score but elsewhere lists the requirement as not disclosed, so treat that number with caution. Starting at $1,000, it can fit a smaller need, but the 11.69% APR floor and an origination fee of 5.25% to 9.99% make it one of the costlier options here. Only 36- and 60-month terms are available. Phone support runs seven days a week. Qualifying rules and state limits are not fully published, so confirm the details with the lender before applying.

Best for: Lower credit scores needing $1,000+

Rocket Loans

Online personal loan lender

Amounts
$2,000–$75,000
APR
7.99%–29.99%
Terms
36 or 60 months
Funding
Typically same day if finalized by 4 p.m. ET on a business day
Fees
Origination fee up to 9.99%, deducted from proceeds; late fee $15

Among online personal loans, Rocket Loans stands out for speed: if the promissory note is signed by 4 p.m. Eastern on a business day, funds typically arrive the same day by direct deposit, though results vary. Its published APR cap of 29.99% is lower than the 35.99% ceiling common on this list, and the lowest rate requires autopay. The trade-offs are only two terms, 36 or 60 months, a $2,000 minimum, four times the $500 floor of a great meadow credit request, and unpublished credit score requirements. The origination fee goes up to 9.99%, and the late fee is $15. Loans are not available in Iowa, Maryland, Nevada, West Virginia or U.S. territories. Confirm current figures with the lender before applying.

Best for: Same-day funding with good credit

Reach Financial

Online personal loan lender

Amounts
$3,500–$40,000
APR
5.99%–35.99%
Terms
24–60 months
Funding
Not published
Fees
Origination fee up to 8%; late fee not published

Reach Financial is an online personal loan lender whose stated loan purposes are debt consolidation and credit card refinancing. Its interface includes free credit score monitoring, borrowers can choose their monthly payment date, and prequalification does not affect your credit. A major review site notes that many eligibility rules and loan details are not disclosed, that there is no mobile app and that support options are limited. The $3,500 minimum rules it out for anyone comparing it with a $1,000 great meadow credit request, and an origination fee of up to 8% adds to the cost. Funding time and state availability are not clearly published, so ask the lender directly and read its disclosures before applying.

Best for: Debt consolidation with flexible due dates

Reprise Financial

Online personal loan lender

Amounts
$2,500–$35,000 (higher minimum in GA)
APR
9.5%–36%
Terms
36–60 months (review-site figure)
Funding
Next business day after approval
Fees
Origination fee up to 6% (review-site figure); 15-day grace period before a late fee

Reprise Financial makes personal loans to borrowers with modest credit; a major review site lists a 540 minimum score, among the lowest here. Loans secured by a vehicle or home fixtures, plus cosigned loans, may help an applicant qualify or get a lower APR, but pledged collateral can be lost if payments stop. Funds are generally sent the next business day after approval. The origination fee tops out at 6%, per the same review. Reprise is offered in about 37 states and not in much of the Northeast, including New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania and Massachusetts. That review also says payments are reported only to Experian. Confirm current terms before applying.

Best for: Low credit scores and secured options

Oportun

Online personal loan lender

Amounts
$300–$10,000 unsecured (secured loans in select states)
APR
31.95%–35.95% (review-site figure)
Terms
12–60 months (review-site figure)
Funding
1 to 4 business days (review-site figure)
Fees
Administrative fee up to 10% of principal; late fee not published

Oportun is one of the few personal loan lenders here that starts as low as $300, below the $500 starting point for great meadow loans, and a major review site says it has no minimum credit score, which helps borrowers with little or no credit history. The lender says new customers typically receive $500 to $4,000, with larger amounts for returning customers. APRs sit near the top of the market, and an administrative fee of up to 10% applies to the principal. Payments can be scheduled every two weeks, and borrowers can change their payment date. Secured loans are limited to eight states. The same review lists Colorado, Connecticut, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New York, Washington, Washington, D.C., and West Virginia as unavailable.

Best for: Small amounts and limited credit history

OneMain Financial

Branch-based personal loan lender

Amounts
$1,500–$35,000 (state minimums and maximums vary)
APR
11.99%–35.99%
Terms
24–60 months
Funding
As soon as one hour after signing by debit card; ACH in 1–2 banking days
Fees
Origination fee $25–$500 flat or 1%–10%; late fee $5–$30 flat or 1.5%–15% of the payment, subject to state limits

OneMain Financial is a branch-based personal loan lender with a large network of local offices and an online application. It publishes no minimum credit score and offers secured loans backed by a vehicle ten years old or newer, which can lower the APR or raise the amount. Funds can arrive about an hour after signing if you take them on a debit card. Fees are set within state limits and can be meaningful: origination is either a flat $25 to $500 or 1% to 10% of the loan. Minimums are higher in Alabama, California, Georgia, North Dakota, Ohio and Virginia. A major review site lists several states, including Massachusetts and Connecticut, where it does not lend.

Best for: In-person service and secured options

Mariner Finance

Branch-based personal loan lender

Amounts
$1,000–$25,000 (online $1,500–$14,000)
APR
15.99%–35.99%
Terms
12–72 months
Funding
Not published
Fees
Origination fees may apply (amount not published); late fee not published

Mariner Finance is a personal loan lender with branches and an online application. Online loans of $1,500 to $14,000 are originated by WebBank in most states, while larger or smaller amounts may be made by Mariner through its branches. Terms range from 12 to 72 months, giving flexibility on payment size. The 15.99% starting APR is higher than online lenders that target strong credit. Some applicants may need to pledge a vehicle no more than ten years old to get the lowest rates or largest amounts. In Georgia, loans are offered only above $3,000. Origination fees may apply but are not specified, so request a full fee disclosure before signing.

Best for: Branch support with longer terms

Regional Finance

Branch-based personal loan lender

Amounts
$600–$35,000 (maximums vary by state)
APR
24%–35.99% (advertised)
Terms
12–60 months
Funding
As fast as 24 hours; same-day check when signing at a branch
Fees
Origination, late and returned-payment fees charged (amounts not published); $2.95 fee for one-time online or in-person payments

Regional Finance is a branch-based personal loan lender with more than 350 locations in 19 states, mostly in the South and Southwest, including Texas, Georgia, North Carolina and Tennessee. It considers applicants with poor credit and publishes no minimum score. Its advertised 24% APR floor is high, and a review site notes that some customers report rates above the advertised range, so read the disclosure closely. Approval often takes 24 to 48 hours, and branch customers can leave with a check on the day they sign. Some loans require collateral or a branch visit. Origination, late and returned-payment fees apply, though the amounts are not published.

Best for: Lower credit with branch access

Republic Finance

Branch-based personal loan lender

Amounts
Up to $25,000 (minimum not published)
APR
Up to 35.99% (minimum not published)
Terms
12–60 months
Funding
Same day for branch loans; online loans by ACH in 1–2 business days
Fees
Origination and late fees may apply (amounts not published)

Republic Finance is a branch-based personal loan lender operating in 16 states, including Texas, Louisiana, Georgia, Ohio and Virginia. It publishes no minimum credit score and lets applicants prequalify with a soft credit check. Branch loans can be funded the same day by paper check, while online loans usually arrive by ACH within one to two business days. The drawback is thin published pricing: no minimum APR, no minimum loan amount and no specific fee figures appear on the review sites we checked. Some loan types require a branch visit. Ask for the full Truth in Lending disclosure before signing so you can compare its APR and fees with other offers.

Best for: Same-day branch funding in the South

Lendmark Financial

Branch-based personal loan lender

Amounts
$500–$25,000 (collateral required above $8,000)
APR
Not published
Terms
Not published
Funding
Not published
Fees
Not published on the lender's site; review sites disagree on whether origination or prepayment fees apply

Lendmark Financial Services is a branch-based personal loan lender that publishes very little pricing on its website, so you have to apply to see an APR estimate. A review site lists amounts from $500 to $25,000, with collateral required above $8,000, and fixed rates, terms and payments for the life of the loan. It also offers a mobile app. The lack of posted APRs, terms and fees makes side-by-side comparison harder, and review sites disagree about whether origination or prepayment fees apply. State coverage is listed differently by different sources, so confirm that Lendmark serves your state and ask for every fee in writing before you commit.

Best for: Fixed-rate loans with local branches

1st Franklin Financial

Branch-based personal loan lender

Amounts
Up to $15,000 (minimum not published)
APR
Up to 35.99% (minimum not published)
Terms
15–60 months
Funding
As soon as the next day; check issued at a local branch
Fees
Origination fee not disclosed; late and returned-payment fees listed in the loan contract; $1.50 debit-card payment fee in select states

1st Franklin Financial is a branch-based lender in 10 states: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas and Virginia. It offers secured and unsecured fixed-rate personal loans up to $15,000, with repayment periods of 15 to 60 months. Approved borrowers may get funds as soon as the next day by check at a local branch, and same-day funding requires complete paperwork by noon. Its published example shows a $3,600 loan at 35.99% APR over 24 months with a $212.55 monthly payment. Origination and late fee amounts are not posted online, so ask the branch for the full disclosure before signing.

Best for: Branch lending in the Southeast

Tower Loan

Branch-based personal loan lender

Amounts
Up to $6,000 online; up to $20,000 in branch
APR
32.99% (rate shown in lender example; no range published)
Terms
12–36 months
Funding
Not published
Fees
Origination fees vary by state; additional fees may apply

Tower Loan is a branch-based personal loan lender serving Mississippi, Louisiana, Alabama, Missouri, Texas and Illinois, and its site also lists locations in Florida and Tennessee. Online loans go up to $6,000, while amounts up to $20,000 require a branch visit. Terms of 12 to 36 months keep the payoff period short. The lender's sample shows a $5,000 loan at 32.99% APR over 36 months at $214 a month, but it does not publish a full APR range, so your quote could differ. Origination fees vary by state, and other fees may apply. Ask for every fee in writing and compare the APR against online offers, or a great meadow credit request, before signing.

Best for: Shorter-term loans in the Gulf South

Kashable

Employer-based personal loan lender

Amounts
$250–$30,000
APR
6%–35.99%
Terms
6–36 months
Funding
As little as 1 business day after approval (review-site figure)
Fees
Origination fee varies (lender examples: $225 on $5,000; $1,500 on $30,000); late fee up to $10 (review-site figure)

Kashable is an employer-based personal loan lender: you qualify through a participating employer or as a federal employee, and payments come straight out of your paycheck. Approval leans on employment data as well as credit, and payments are reported to the credit bureaus, which may help build a credit file. Amounts start at just $250, below the $500 floor of a great meadow credit request, and terms run 6 to 36 months. The federal employee program covers every state except West Virginia, while other borrowers depend on whether their employer participates. Active-duty service members and their dependents are not currently eligible. Payroll deduction makes missed payments less likely but leaves less flexibility if your budget changes.

Best for: Employees of participating employers

OMNI Financial

Military personal loan lender

Amounts
$500–$10,000
APR
Not published (Military Lending Act caps covered loans at 36%)
Terms
6–36 months
Funding
As soon as the next business day (review-site figure)
Fees
Not published

OMNI Financial makes personal loans to active-duty military members, career veterans with at least 20 years of service and Department of Defense employees. Its rates must comply with the Military Lending Act, which caps the military APR at 36% for covered borrowers. Amounts run from $500 to $10,000 with terms of six to 36 months, and funds may arrive as soon as the next business day. Borrowers stationed overseas can apply. The narrow eligibility is the main limit, and APRs and fees are not posted in detail, so request the full disclosure. Service members can also check their branch's relief society for assistance before borrowing.

Best for: Active-duty service members and career veterans

On our site

Related guides and tools

Next step

Ready to see what lenders in our network can offer? One request takes about five minutes and there is no obligation.

Start my request

Ready when you are

Compare personal loan offers with one request

One short form, lenders in our network review it, and you decide. No fee to use the service and no obligation to accept an offer.

Start my request
Borrow $500–$5,000 · No obligationApply